UFC 96: Jardine vs Rampage thoughts

ufc-96-poster

After watching UFC 96 I had mixed feelings. Most of the fights were pretty good and surprising which is what I like. For example, Gabriel Gonzaga getting knocked out. The main event wasn’t too bad, but I think could of been better. I wanted Keith Jardine to win this fight and believed he would. To me, Rampage didn’t look impressive. For the most part of the fight, Jardine was taking it to Rampage. The problem I saw with Jardine was that he looked tired with a result in dropping his hands often. With that said, this was a set up for Rashad Evans vs Quinton “Rampage” Jackson. These two guys are quite similar in styles and looks! Haha. I believe Evans will beat Rampage. I think Rashad is quicker, wiser, and heavier-handed. I am not counting Rampage out, but I think his style is repetitive. By repetitive, I mean he stands right in front of you and throws no leg kicks. Rashad mixes it up which will wear Rampage out (my opinion). I would originally like to see Rashad Evans vs Lyoto Machida. However, casual fans would want nothing to do with this fight because Machida is not a “mainstream” star. Yet he is more deserving of a title shot than Rampage. Anyway, those are my two cents on the current UFC situation. 

jwd708@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

