nba 2k9 review

I bought nba 2k9 about three months ago. I wanted a decent basketball game without breaking the bank. I know nba 2k10 recently came out, but I am not willing to cough up $60. I got 2k9 for like $39 which isn’t that bad. I’m sure 2k10 has more features, but it doesn’t matter to me.

I usually just stick to the exhibition game mode. Mainly because I enjoy playing as the 90’s East All Stars. This team has Dennis Rodman, Grant Hill, Joe Dumars, Shaq, Patrick Ewing, Tim Hardaway, Scottie Pippen, the list goes on. This is the era of basketball that I miss, so it brings back memories in a sense. The game has a load of extra organized teams like the 1950’s/1960’s All Stars if you like it old school, umm International All Stars like Steve Nash, Luol Deng, Dirk, etc.

The gameplay took me a bit to get used to; due to the fact that I haven’t bought a basketball video game since Nintendo 64! I’d rather actually play basketball than play a video game simulating it. Anyway, once you get used to the game play, it gets pretty sweet. Setting up plays is one of my favorite parts of running the offense. The playbook is filled with different options… If you cannot memorize them, there is an option for them to be shown on the screen for added help. I will probably start a season sooner or later. All in all, the game is worth the money. Below is a very good video review from G4!

Leave a Reply

