nightmare on elm street 2010

Always been a fan of the Nightmare on Elm Street series. Freddy is probably my favorite horror icon. When I heard there was a remake for 2010, I was excited. Although Robert England was not taking the part as Krueger, I still was interested in seeing it. Instead, Jackie Earle Haley took on the part as Freddy Krueger. He is a good fit but honestly does not compare to what Robert England has done.

The main difference I saw between this remake and all the other Nightmare on Elm Street’s was that in this remake, Freddy is more sinister and menacing than what Wes Craven had him be. It is said Wes Craven had nothing to do with this remake. In the previous Nightmare on Elm Street’s, Freddy usually has something comical to say while terrorizing the kids on Elm Street. We didn’t really see the joking Krueger in the 2010 version.

All in all I thought the movie was okay. It did get a lot of harsh reviews from critics and fans alike. In the beginning it seemed to start a bit fast and never really established a neutral point. Near the end it did pick up. Nancy pulls Freddy in the real world where he is actually human. The fight scene with Nancy and Quentin was good. It seemed that Krueger was gone for good after Nancy slices his throat. The very last scene caught me off guard. Nancy is face to face with her mother. In the mirror, it is Freddy and he grabs Nancy’s mom, hence killing her.

I am not sure where this one stands with the rest of the series. Since Wes Craven did not make the film I don’t think it is considered to be in the lineup. Who knows. I have never been a fan of horror movie remakes. I’d rather stick to the original. This does not mean I won’t watch them though. Since Freddy is my favorite, I had to give it a viewing.

Leave a Reply

