the outsiders book

I finished this book yesterday and was glad I did. I believe I read it before but cannot remember when. If you have seen the movie, then you will enjoy the book. The book of course is more in detail and has more events than the film does. Now I am going to watch the movie and compare certain situations. Should be fun. Also to put a face on all the famous greasers; Ponyboy, Johnny, Sodapop, Darry, Dally, Two Bit, Steve, did I forget anybody?

As you can see, it’s been awhile since I stepped into the soc’s vs greaser world. Out of all the characters I think I like Darry the most. He represents the grounded member who makes sure everyone is level and doing what is half way decent. Although sometimes he can be a jerk but we all can be at times. The best part of the book is when Johnny and Ponyboy go into hiding from when Johnny acted in self defense killing Bob. The two were separated from the gang and their whereabouts remained unknown to the rest of the world. The greasers defeating the socs in the big rumble wasn’t bad either.

The ending was a bummer. Due to the fact that both Dally and Johnny died. I feel more remorse for Johnny. Dally was a punk. Johnny was a good kid who saved the young children in the fire. Although, him and Ponyboy thought that they had started it… A great read. I would definitely recommend it for those who are not familiar with the story.

Leave a Reply

