one of my favorites- FRESH

I first seen this movie when I was about 15 years old. I liked it then and still like it to this day. Although I will admit that at the age of 15, I did not understand what I do today. Fresh is a young kid, I believe he is 12 in the movie. He is a drug runner for a few drug kingpin’s in the city. He is not the average 12 year old boy, this is obvious. With such a busy schedule, Fresh finds himself often not having time for mandatory engagements. These engagements include school and family time. Fresh finds himself late to class and dinner on a few occasions. Despite this, Fresh is an all around decent kid. One of the first things I noticed about him was how mature he was. It seems like the streets hardened him and he sees the world for what it is. The majority of people realize this when they are much older.

Samuel L. Jackson plays Fresh’ father. He is a distant yet smart man who Fresh is seen playing chess with. The two are alike and because of this bump heads, but do love each other. Then there is Chucky. He is one of Fresh’ friends. Chucky is an outspoken kid who often does not know what he is talking about. Chucky wants a piece of the action, in terms of Fresh’ drug running and money making. Fresh knows it is a bad idea but helps out anyway. Chucky runs his mouth and then an unfortunate event takes place (I won’t give it away.) On this note, I am going to stop writing. See the film for your self, you will not regret it. Check out the clip.

Leave a Reply

