the happiness project

the_happiness_project_book_by_gretchen_rubin

The Happiness Project was quite a project indeed. I finished this book up today. Gretchen Rubin gives her take on how to be.. well, happy. A lot of interesting topics and ideas expressed throughout the book. I try myself to be happy each day; sometimes I have a bad day just like everyone else. One topic repeated was about acting the way you want to feel. If you want to feel sad, feel sad. If you are mad, be mad. If you want to be happy, be happy, etc. Makes sense to me.

On page 11 (paperback), Rubin has Secrets of Adulthood and listed are some short sentences. Here are a few that stuck with me. People don’t notice your mistakes as much as you think. It’s okay to ask for help. By doing a little bit each day, you can get a lot accomplished. You don’t have to be good at everything. If you’re not failing, you’re not trying hard enough, and What’s fun for other people may not be fun for you- and vice versa. All of the following really made a mark. Any time I would mess up, I thought people were going to criticize me to no end. For men, asking for help is difficult. I am not sure why, but it is. Now I will ask for help more. Doing a tiny bit is progress. Baby steps works towards the ultimate goal. Being good at everything is nearly impossible. So, it is just fine to suck at something! No big deal. Failure is a bitch. However, what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. We all make mistakes and learn from them. Everyone’s idea of fun is different. Some folks like going out to the bar, some like staying in, and some are up for anything. Whatever floats your boat.

Based on the happiness project, I do not think I will create my own. I don’t have a dislike for the idea, I just do not feel I need to do one. I am relatively happy in my life as of now. Possibly down the road I could, ya know. I am still a young man and learning this thing called life. With a little more experience I wouldn’t mind giving it a go.

Leave a Reply

