vindicated book review

20-vind

Vindicated is the second book by former baseball player Jose Canseco. I read his first book, Juiced (which I posted on awhile back) and liked it so much I figured I’d give Vindicated my undivided attention. Jose left out a few players in Juiced that he named in Vindicated for their steroid use. Those two players are Magglio Ordonez and Alex Rodriguez. Jose mentioned that he was fond of Maggs but was not a fan of A-Rod.

A big chapter covered was about the Mitchell Report. The report was a detailed explanation of the rampant use of anabolic steroids and human growth hormone; as well as players involvement with the Bay Area Laboratory Co-Operative (BALCO). Canseco said the report was disappointing. Disappointing in that they spent tens of millions of dollars to tell us something most us already knew. A funny thing Jose said was that the whole exercise seemed designed more to make it look as if MLB was doing something about the problem, instead of actually doing something.

Here is my opinion about the book. It is a good read if you were ever curious about the use of steroids in baseball. If you do not care for baseball or Canseco, don’t read it. I like both the game of baseball and Jose Canseco. I believe Jose is a good guy, and from what I have read in both books, a nice guy. Sure, I do think some of the stuff is far-fetched and has a high opinion of himself. Regardless, I still think Canseco is one of the best. The book is an easy read with good sized font, not too big, not too small.

Leave a Reply

