the wrestler movie review

Being a wrestling fan, I though watching The Wrestler would be right up my alley. I have heard nothing but good things from people who have seen the film. I honestly thought it was just okay, mediocre. Mickey Rourke and Marisa Tomei did a great job in their roles. The storyline seemed dull at best. Maybe I am missing the point? I am not a professional wrestler, so I do not know how that life is; I can only watch it, not live it.

Image

It was hard at times while watching. Seeing Randy “The Ram” Robinson going through his daily life of heart problems, promiscuous behavior, isolation, etc.  He actually was impressive with maintaining a upbeat personality. For the most part, he was calm and treated people well. We learn later about his daughter, Stephanie, who hates him. It was a shame because for a brief moment, the two got along. Randy did befriend a dancer named Cassidy (Marisa Tomei). Like Randy, she is a bit over-the-hill for her job. Cassidy did seem like a decent person regardless. Alright, in the beginning for this post, I mentioned that the movie was just okay. I changed my mind, the film was good.

Leave a Reply

