aurora, il

Aurora, Illinois is a city about 40 miles west of Chicago. The nickname for Aurora is the “City of Lights”. I did not know much about Aurora until I had to go there for work. I actually thought it was a suburb and not a large city like Chicago. The population has increased to about 199,963. It is the second largest city in the state, falling to Chicago of course.

I have heard Aurora gets a bad rep due to the city being dangerous and not a good place to live. Well, being a city, I’m sure there are good parts and not so good parts. From what I’ve seen, it seems like a fine place to visit or live. I have seen new home communities going up lately, so it must be attracting families.

The Westfield Mall attracts shoppers all over Illinois. I have been there and it is huge! Just a great time. In popular culture, some of the scenes from Wayne’s World were shot in Aurora. Wayne’s house is in California, not Aurora. I knew that was too good to be true. Well that’s my two cents on Aurora, IL. In my opinion, a cool neighbor to the west.

2 thoughts on “aurora, il

  1. The only thing I know about Aurora, IL is that they had the closest riverboat to Chicago for a long time. I used to take the train out there to gamble on it. At the time it was contributing at least half of Aurora’s tax income, so it was a civic boon.

Leave a Reply

